Table of Contents
While we strive to be as accurate and complete as possible, our researchers are not attorneys, and state laws are often full of nuances and gaps. Legal challenges in some states have resulted in different registration requirements based on the year of conviction or first registration. Users must accept all risks associated with actions taken based on this information. Please help us improve by reporting any errors or omissions via our form at https://narsol.org/wiki-response/
Missouri Laws Regarding Registration
Who must register?
Who is required to Register 589.400-425; Offenses Requiring Registration 589.400
What information must registrants provide?
589.407. Registration, required information
Registrants need to know that “online identifiers” is interpreted to include IP addresses. This means that technically, any person who uses a dynamic IP address is committing a felony if they do not list each and every IP address ever assigned to them. 589.407 lists online identifiers as required information for registration.
43.651(4) defines “online identifier,” and it includes “all…other identity information.”
The Jackson County sheriff's office specifically states that this includes IP addresses.
How frequently must they register? And for how long?
For adults: 589.414, 3 and 4. Every 90 days or semi-annually
589.400, 2 - Lifetime
See also 211.425 juvenile registration
Does the state categorize registrants by levels/tiers?
Yes. The tiers are: Tier I, Tier II, and Tier III.
Does the state use risk assessment when assigning tiers or levels to registrants?
Do any registrants remain privately registered? If so, who?
Certain juvenile offenders 211.425
Is there a registration fee?
Are there special restrictions for registrants even after supervision?
566.147 1000 ft. residency
589.426 Halloween restriction, including posting sign
Fees 589.414, 4 and 5
Is there a process for removal from the registry? If so, who qualifies and what is the process?
589.400, 7and 8. For just a few offenses: Committing or expiring to commit promoting prostitution 2nd & 3rd degree, public display of explicit sexual material, and statutory rape 2nd degree. Also for youthful offenders (see Romeo & Juliet below).
What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who is visiting the state?
If Must register if in state more than 7 days in a year 589.400 1.(8)
What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who will be moving to the state to live or to attend school?
589.400 1.(8). Within three days
State Laws Regarding Sexual Offenses and Offenders, other than registration
What sexual offenses can people be convicted of, and what are the ranges of sentences?
566.030 - 566.071. Click forward arrow on 1st statute to continue.
Does the state have lifetime supervision?
Yes, based solely on conviction.
559.106 For those sentenced to probation alone
217.735 For those sentenced to imprisonment
Does the state have indeterminate sentencing?
What are the state civil commitment laws?
MO. REV. STAT. §§ 632.480-.513
SMMCHC Missouri Sex Offender Rehabilitation and Treatment Services
What is the age of consent?
Are there “Romeo and Juliet” laws or other laws specific to young people?
566.034 says person must be 21 or older to be charged with stat rape 2
Info for State Advocates
Are felons allowed to vote? If so, when is this right restored?
US Vote Foundation Missouri Ex-Offender Voting Rights
What does the state say about persons who are required to register?
How does the state’s legislative process work?
Missouri General Assembly Legislative Branch
How a bill becomes law
Track a bill
Missouri Revised Statutes
Or use Legiscan
How can I locate legislation regarding sexual offense issues?
If you know the bill #:
Search by number or key words
Best keywords are:
Sexual crime; sex offender; sex offender registry
How to sign up for notifications of bill movement:
Most important legislative committees for our issues are:
LEGISLATIVE OVERSIGHT DIVISION
Crime prevention and public safety
Contact info for state legislators can be found at:
Find your legislator (click on pic for contact info):
House of Representatives
Other Useful State Information
Contact information for state registry office
1-888-767-6747 or 573-526-6348
Multiple contacts here.
NARSOL state affiliate website or blog:
None at present.
Other helpful state advocacy groups:
Other registrant-friendly state support groups: