Table of Contents
While we strive to be as accurate and complete as possible, our researchers are not attorneys, and state laws are often full of nuances and gaps. Legal challenges in some states have resulted in different registration requirements based on the year of conviction or first registration. Users must accept all risks associated with actions taken based on this information. Please help us improve by reporting any errors or omissions via our form at https://narsol.org/wiki-response/
Louisiana Laws Regarding Registration
Who must register?
What information must registrants provide?
RS 15:542 C. 1
How frequently must they register? And for how long?
Registration frequency varies from every 14 days, every three months, every six months, and annually. Registration frequency is dependent on status (e.g., no fixed place of residence, subsequent offense, etc.)
15/25/life: RS 15:544
Does the state categorize registrants by levels/tiers?
Yes. Three levels registering for 15 years, 25 years, and lifetime.
Does the state use risk assessment when assigning tiers or levels to registrants?
Do any registrants remain privately registered? If so, who?
Yes, under very limited circumstances 15:542 F. (3)(a) and (4)(a)
Is there a registration fee?
RS 15:542 (D)
Are there special restrictions for registrants even after supervision?
R.S. 14:91.2 Unlawful Presence of a Sex Offender
R.S. 14:91.5 Unlawful use of a social networking website
R.S. 14:91.9 Unlawful Presence or Contact of a Sex Offender Relative to a Former Victim
R.S. 40:1321 (J) Special Sex Offender Identification Cards
R.S. 32:412 (I) Flagged Drivers Licenses
On October 20, 2020, in the Louisiana Supreme Court case State v. Tazin Ardell Hill, the Louisiana Supreme Court struck down two statutes requiring registrants to carry state identification bearing the words “SEX OFFENDER” in orange block letters. Full implementation is still needed from the law enforcement arms of the Louisiana Government, and may need further litigation to ensure the appropriate offices comply.
R.S. 14:313 Wearing masks or hoods in public places prohibited by sex offenders
R.S. 14:313.1 Distributing candy or gifts on Halloween and other public holidays by sex offenders
R.S. 15:551 Harboring or Concealing a sex offender, sexually violent predator, or child predator
R.S. 15:553 Prohibition of Employment for certain sex offenders
Is there a process for removal from the registry? If so, who qualifies and what is the process?
Yes, under very limited circumstances. 15:542 F. (3)(a) and (4)(a)
What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who is visiting the state?
7 days. R.S. 15:542 C (l)(n)(i)
What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who will be moving to the state to live or to attend school?
3 days RS 15:542.1.3
State Laws Regarding Sexual Offenses and Offenders, other than registration
What sexual offenses can people be convicted of, and what are the ranges of sentences?
General Sex Offense Statues include: §40.2 Stalking. §40.3 Cyberstalking. §42 First degree rape. §42.1 Second degree rape. §43 Third degree rape. §43.1 Sexual battery. §43.2 Second degree sexual battery. §43.3 Oral sexual battery. §89 Incest. §89.1 Aggravated incest. §46.2 Human Trafficking. §80 Felony carnal knowledge of a juvenile. §80.1 Misdemeanor carnal knowledge of a juvenile. §81 Indecent behavior with juveniles. §81.1 Pornography involving juveniles. §81.2 Molestation of a juvenile. §46.3 Human Trafficking of Children for Sexual Purposes, among others.
Does the state have lifetime supervision?
Does the state have indeterminate sentencing?
What are the state civil commitment laws?
No civil commitment solely for sexual offenders
What is the age of consent?
Age is 17 RS 14:80
Are there “Romeo and Juliet” laws or other laws specific to young people?
Yes; at least 13; 3 years or less difference in age RS 14:80
Info for State Advocates
Are felons allowed to vote? If so, when is this right restored?
Yes, when sentence, included parole or probation, is completed. §10
What does the state say about persons who are required to register?
How does the state’s legislative process work?
How a bill becomes a law
The legislative process
How can I locate legislation regarding sexual offense issues?
Best keywords are:
Sexual offense; sex offender; sex offender registration
How to sign up for notifications of bill movement:
Sign up here
Then can use this free service to track up to 50 bills
Most important legislative committees for our issues are:
Administration of Criminal Justice (House)
Judiciary A (Senate)
Judiciary B (Senate)
Judiciary B (Senate)
Contact info for state legislators can be found at:
Find your legislators:
Legislator bios (House):
Legislator bios (Senate):
Other Useful State Information
Contact information for state registry office
P.O. Box 66614, Box A-6
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
NARSOL state affiliate website or blog:
Other helpful state advocacy groups:
Other registrant-friendly state support groups: