Table of Contents
While we strive to be as accurate and complete as possible, our researchers are not attorneys, and state laws are often full of nuances and gaps. Legal challenges in some states have resulted in different registration requirements based on the year of conviction or first registration. Users must accept all risks associated with actions taken based on this information. Please help us improve by reporting any errors or omissions via our form at https://narsol.org/wiki-response/
INSTRUCTIONS FOR ACCESSING MISSISSIPPI'S LEXIS.COM STATUTES:
- Right click and open this link in a new window: http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/mscode/
- If you get a dialogue window asking you to accept terms, click “accept.”
- Leave the window open.
- Return to this Wiki page; you will be able to go directly to the desired statute(s) by clicking on them or by copying and pasting the statute number into the search window.
- After you close your browser, you will need to repeat this process the next time that you look for a statute or statutes.
Mississippi Laws Regarding Registration
Who must register?
What information must registrants provide?
How frequently must they register?
Miss. Code Ann. § 45-33-47
Miss. Code Ann. § 45-33-31
Does the state categorize registrants by levels/tiers?
Yes. The tiers are: Tier One, Tier Two, and Tier Three:
Miss. Code Ann. § 45-33-47 (2)
Does the state use risk assessment when assigning tiers or levels to registrants?
No. Tiers set according to the violation:
Miss. Code Ann. § 45-33-47
Do any registrants remain privately registered? If so, who?
Is there a registration fee?
Amount is not in statute, currently $11 quarterly set by Department of Public Safety.
Miss. Code Ann. § 45-33-57
Are there special restrictions for registrants even after supervision?
Residency restrictions: 3,000 feet from a school or day care; cannot loiter within 500 feet of a school or day care. Some exceptions apply:
Miss. Code Ann. § 45-33-25
Miss. Code Ann. § 45-33-26
“Carly's Law”, which prohibits any contact orcorrespondence of any kind (written, phone, Internet etc.) between the offender and the victim:
Is there a process for removal from the registry? If so, who qualifies and what is the process?
What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who is visiting your state?
Visitors may stay in state for up to six days without registering. If they intend to stay for 7 or more days, they must register within three days of entry into the state. To register, fill out the .pdf form found at https://state.sor.dps.ms.gov/Resources.aspx under “MS Sex Offender Registration Form”, take that to the local sheriff's office where you will be processed, then take their paperwork to any driver's license station, pay $11.00 and get an ID card. If you register as a visitor, you should visit the driver's license station before you leave the state, to let them know you are leaving and no longer will be in Mississippi. You will then be listed on the registry as “Out of State”.
What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who will be moving to your state to live or to attend school?
Notify 10 days PRIOR to moving to state; once there, register within 3 days:
Miss. Code Ann. § 45-33-27
State Laws Regarding Sexual Offenses and Offenders, other than registration
What sexual offenses can people be convicted of, and what are the ranges of sentences?
MSC 97-3-53, 54.1, 54.3, 65, 71, 95, 101, 104, 107; 97-5-5, 23, 24, 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, 41; 97-29-3, 39(1)©, 45(1)(a), 59, 61(2), 63; 43-47-18; 97-1-7
Go to http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/mscode/ then choose the applicable code number listed.
Does the state have lifetime supervision?
Does the state have indeterminate sentencing?
What are the state civil commitment laws?
What is the age of consent?
Miss. Code Ann. § 97-3-65
Are there “Romeo and Juliet” laws or other laws specific to young people?
Info for State Advocates
Are felons allowed to vote? If so, when is this right restored?
Permanently barred if have committed certain crimes, including rape.
in flux? Lawsuit in 2017
What does the state say about persons who are required to register?
How does the state’s legislative process work?
How can I locate legislation regarding sexual offense issues?
On the MS Legislature site, hover over “Legislation” and select “Measure search” if you already know a bill number or statute. Select “text search” for a more robust search. But this is clunky.
Select session, then choice of search criteria such as by committee or bill # or key words
For an easier time of it, go to Legiscan, enter Mississippi for the state, and use “sexual offense” or “sex offender” or “sexual offender” for best results.
Best keywords are:
sex offense, sex offense, or sexual
Sign up for notifications of bill movement:
Offers free and subscription services
Most important legislative committees for our issues are:
House corrections and several judiciary; no links to individual committees, just to list with members
Senate same; corrections and 2 judiciary
Contact info for state legislators can be found at:
House Roster: http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/h_roster.pdf
Senate Roster: http://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/members/s_roster.pdf
Other Useful State Information
Contact information for state registry office
MS State Sex Offender Registry Office
Mississippi SOR, Post Office Box 958, Jackson, MS 39205
RSOL state affiliate website or blog:
Other helpful information
ACLU Mississippi: http://www.aclu-ms.org/