User Tools

Site Tools


arkansas

While we strive to be as accurate and complete as possible, our researchers are not attorneys, and state laws are often full of nuances and gaps. Legal challenges in some states have resulted in different registration requirements based on the year of conviction or first registration. Users must accept all risks associated with actions taken based on this information. Please help us improve by reporting any errors or omissions via our form at https://narsol.org/wiki-response/

Arkansas Laws Regarding Registration

Who must register?

What information must registrants provide?

How frequently must they register? And for how long?

4 times yearly for “sexually dangerous;” twice yearly all others. A.C.A. § 12-12-907
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/4WPT-1DF0-R03M-12BW-00008-00
Length of requirement: 15 yrs./life A.C.A. § 12-12-919
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/4WPT-1DF0-R03K-B2C9-00008-00

Does the state categorize registrants by levels/tiers?

Yes, Level 1, Level 2, Level 3, and Level 4.

References to these levels are made in Act 64 of 2011, A.C.A. § 12-12-909, but a definition for the levels could not be found. See Verification of Residency - page 12.
https://www.sos.arkansas.gov/uploads/rulesRegs/Arkansas%20Register/2012/Dec12Reg/004.00.12-003.pdf

Does the state use risk assessments for registrants (other than supervised release)?

Response needed.

Do any registrants remain privately registered? If so, who?

Are there special restrictions for registrants even after supervision?

Is there a process for removal from the registry? If so, who qualifies and what is the process?

Yes, but only for registrants not defined in section (a) below. They can be removed after 15 years.
A.C.A. § 12-12-919
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/4WPT-1DF0-R03K-B2C9-00008-00

What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who is visiting the state?

Definition of residence is “A temporary residence or domicile in which a person resides for an aggregate of five (5) or more consecutive days during a calendar year” 12-12-903 (10)(B)(iv)
http://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/4WPT-1DF0-R03M-J2BR-00008-00

What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who will be moving to the state to live or to attend school?

5 business days after the person establishes residency, an eviction, natural disaster, or any other unforeseen circumstance
A.C.A. § 12-12-904 (a)(2)
http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/assembly/2017/2017R/Fiscal%20Impacts/HB1175-Other1.pdf

7 calendar days if the person moves to or returns to this state from another jurisdiction
A.C.A. § 12-12-904 (c)(ii)(D)(ii)(2)(A)
https://advance.lexis.com/document/documentslider/?crid=5d1f16d6-2705-4f31-96dc-c854907fd1c4

State Laws Regarding Sexual Offenses and Offenders, other than registration

What sexual offenses can people be convicted of, and what are the ranges of sentences?

A.C.A. § 5-14 - Sexual Offenses (Click ‘next’ to continue)
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/4MJX-BF60-R03N-50YY-00008-00
A.C.A. § 5-27 - Offenses Against Children or Incompetents (Click ‘next’ to continue)
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/4MJX-BF60-R03N-510G-00008-00
A.C.A. § 5-70 - Prostitution (Click ‘next’ to continue)
https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/4WPT-0100-R03M-J13S-00008-00

Does the state have lifetime supervision?

No.

Does the state have indeterminate sentencing?

No.

What are the state civil commitment laws?

No state civil commitment.

Are there “Romeo and Juliet” laws or other laws specific to young people?

Yes; age gap
A.C.A. § 5-14-110
Mistake of age defense
A.C.A. § 5-14-102

Info for State Advocates

Are felons allowed to vote? If so, when is this right restored?

What does the state say about persons who are required to register?

How does the state’s legislative process work?

How can I locate legislation regarding sexual offense issues?

Best keywords are:

Sexual offense; sex offender; sex offender registration

How to sign up for notifications of bill movement:

Most important legislative committees for our issues are:

Contact info for state legislators can be found at:

Other Useful State Information

Contact information for state registry office

323 CENTER STREET, SUITE 200,
LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72201
(501) 682-2007 (800) 482-8982
OAG@ARKANSASAG.GOV
https://arkansasag.gov/public-safety/resources/column-one/acic-sex-offender-registry/

NARSOL state affiliate website or blog:

Arkansas Time After Time
http://www.arkansastimeaftertime.org/

Other helpful state advocacy groups:

Response needed.
Link needed.

Other registrant-friendly state support groups:

Response needed.
Link needed.

Other helpful information

arkansas.txt · Last modified: 2018/12/09 20:55 by zyin