User Tools

Site Tools


While we strive to be as accurate and complete as possible, our researchers are not attorneys, and state laws are often full of nuances and gaps. Legal challenges in some states have resulted in different registration requirements based on the year of conviction or first registration. Users must accept all risks associated with actions taken based on this information. Please help us improve by reporting any errors or omissions via our form at

California Laws Regarding Registration

Who must register?

What information must registrants provide?

How frequently must they register? And for how long?

Transients: monthly. Sexually violent predators (SVP): quarterly. All others: yearly.
§ 290.012

Currently, everyone is required to register for Life, but commencing on January 1st, 2021, it will have the following Tier system: Tier One: at least 10 years, Tier 2: at least 20 years, and Tier 3: Life, respectively.

Does the state categorize registrants by levels/tiers?

Yes. Under the new California Penal Code section 290, the sex-offender registry in the state is divided into three tiers.
Tier 1, 10 years, Tier 2, 20 years, Tier 3, Lifetime
Section 290

Does the state use risk assessment when assigning tiers or levels to registrants?

Do any registrants remain privately registered? If so, who?

Is there a registration fee?


Are there special restrictions for registrants even after supervision?

Is there a process for removal from the registry? If so, who qualifies and what is the process?

In flux; tiered registry will allow for some to come off; California Senate Bill (SB) 384 Due to become effective July, 2021

What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who is visiting the state?

What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who will be moving to the state to live or to attend school?

State Laws Regarding Sexual Offenses and Offenders, other than registration

What sexual offenses can people be convicted of, and what are the ranges of sentences?

Does the state have lifetime supervision?


Does the state have indeterminate sentencing?

What are the state civil commitment laws?

Are there “Romeo and Juliet” laws or other laws specific to young people?


Info for State Advocates

Are felons allowed to vote? If so, when is this right restored?

On November 3, 2020, CA passed Prop 17, which allows felons to vote in California elections while they are on Parole or Probation. Please note, California also allows convicted felons who are serving time in county jails (rather than state prison) the ability to vote while serving their sentence.

What does the state say about persons who are required to register?

How does the state’s legislative process work?

For an in-depth view, please review the following link

How can I locate legislation regarding sexual offense issues?

Best keywords are:

Sexual offense; 290 offense; sex offender; sex offender registry

How to sign up for notifications of bill movement:

May register and track bills here:

Most important legislative committees for our issues are:

Senate Judiciary
Senate Public Safety
Subcommittee on Sexual Harrassment Prevention and Response>

Contact info for state legislators can be found at:

Other Useful State Information

Contact information for state registry office

NARSOL state affiliate website or blog:

None yet.

Other helpful state advocacy groups:

Other registrant-friendly state support groups:

Response needed.

Other helpful information

california.txt · Last modified: 2022/07/10 12:14 by rkdbus