Table of Contents
While we strive to be as accurate and complete as possible, our researchers are not attorneys, and state laws are often full of nuances and gaps. Legal challenges in some states have resulted in different registration requirements based on the year of conviction or first registration. Users must accept all risks associated with actions taken based on this information. Please help us improve by reporting any errors or omissions via our form at https://narsol.org/wiki-response/
Illinois Laws Regarding Registration
Who must register?
730 ILCS 150/2-3
What information must registrants provide?
How frequently must they register? And for how long?
Frequency 730 ILCS 150/6
Duration 10 yr/life 730 I.L.C.S. 150/7
Does the state categorize registrants by levels/tiers?
Yes. There is either a 10 year or lifetime registration based on offense. Additionally a “sexual predator” label is applied based on offense.
Does the state use risk assessment when assigning tiers or levels to registrants?
No. Only related to supervision.
Do any registrants remain privately registered? If so, who?
Is there a registration fee?
(730 ILCS 150/3)
Are there special restrictions for registrants even after supervision? (State: Local jurisdictions: Yes/No)
720 ILCS 5/11-9.3
720 ILCS 9.4-1
720 ILCS 11-24
720 ILCS 12-21.6-5
Is there a process for removal from the registry? If so, who qualifies and what is the process?
for Juveniles 730 ILCS 150/3-5 (c-f)
What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who is visiting your state?
Cannot find in statutes but state registry FAQs (#13) say within 3 days
A sex offender visiting the State of Illinois for more than 3 days in a calendar year will be required to register with the local law enforcement jurisdiction where the sex offender is staying.
What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who will be moving to your state to live or to attend school?
Within 3 days 730 ILCS 150/3(a-5)
According to Public Act 97-0578 which became effective January 1, 2012, if a person moves to Illinois on or after the effective date of this public act, the person is considered a sexual predator with lifetime registration if the person is required to register in another state due to a conviction, adjudication or other action of any court triggering an obligation to register as a sex offender, sexual predator, or substantially similar status under the laws of that State. Registration is required within 3 days of arriving in Illinois
State Laws Regarding Sexual Offenses and Offenders, other than registration
What sexual offenses can people be convicted of, and what are the ranges of sentences?
730 ILCS 5/11
Does the state have lifetime supervision?
Yes 730 ILCS 5/5-8-1(2.5)(d)(4)
Does the state have indeterminate sentencing?
Yes, but only for sex offenses.
What are the state civil commitment laws?
What is the age of consent?
Age 17 720 ILCS 5/11-1.50c)
Are there “Romeo and Juliet” laws or other laws specific to young people?
Yes ILCS 5/11-1.50c)
Info for State Advocates
Are felons allowed to vote? If so, when is this right restored?
After prison; 10 ILCS 5/3-5
What does the state say about persons who are required to register?
How does the state’s legislative process work?
Create a “My Legislation” account to track bills that interest you:
How can I locate legislation regarding sexual offense issues?
May search by bill # or key word
Search by bill title or choose subject
Best keywords are:
sex offense; sex offense registry; crime and law enforcement; criminal justice
Sign up for notifications of bill movement:
Most important legislative committees for our issues are:
Senate Criminal Law Committee
House Judiciary - Criminal Committee
House Sex Offenses and Sex Offender Registration Subcommittee
Contact info for state legislators can be found at:
Other Useful State Information
Contact information for state registry office
https://www.isp.state.il.us/sor/contactsor.cfm 888-41-ISORT (888-414-7678) I-SORT has established a toll-free number to answer questions about sex offender laws in Illinois, take phone-in tips about inaccurate or incomplete entries on the Sex Offender Registry and to order Sex Offender Registry public awareness posters. The hotline is answered Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5 p.m
Questions regarding length of registration for sex offenders are to be addressed to the Illinois State Police Registration Unit (SOR) at 217-785-0653 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.
NARSOL state affiliate website or blog:
Other helpful information
Northwestern University Law School - Bluhm Legal Clinic
ACLU of Illinois
Illinois Association for Criminal Justice
Cabrini Green Legal Aid
Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority
John Howard Association of Illinois
Illinois Sex Offender Resources