User Tools

Site Tools


This is an old revision of the document!

While we strive to be as accurate and complete as possible, our researchers are not attorneys, and state laws are often full of nuances and gaps. Legal challenges in some states have resulted in different registration requirements based on the year of conviction or first registration. Users must accept all risks associated with actions taken based on this information. Please help us improve by reporting any errors or omissions via our form at


  1. Right click and open this link in a new window:
  2. If you get a dialogue window asking you to accept terms, click “accept.”
  3. Leave the window open.
  4. Return to this Wiki page; you will be able to go directly to the desired statute(s) by clicking on them or by copying and pasting the statute number into the search window.
  5. After you close your browser, you will need to repeat this process the next time that you look for a statute or statutes.

Maryland Laws Regarding Registration

Who must register?

What information must registrants provide?

How frequently must they register? And for how long?

Registration Frequency is determined by Tier Classification: Tier I registers semi-annually (every 6 months) for 15 years (but can appeal after 10); Tier II registers semi-annually for 25 years; and Tier III registers quarterly (every 3 months) for life.
Crim. Proc. 11-707
(NOTE: A retroactivity challenge has allowed many persons who have been registering in Maryland since prior to 2010 to be returned to a shorter time period.)
Those adjudicated as juveniles remain privately registered.
Criminal Procedure 11-704.1

Does the state categorize registrants by levels/tiers?

Yes. There are three tiers: Tier I, Tier II, and Tier III.
Criminal Procedures 11-707, § 11-707(a)6

Does the state use risk assessments for registrants (other than supervised release)?

No. Only for supervision purposes.

Are there special restrictions for registrants even after supervision?

MD has no residency restrictions. It does restrict registrants from being on school property except to vote, and there is some public notification which varies from county to county.
Criminal Procedure 11-704

Is there a process for removal from the registry? If so, who qualifies and what is the process?

Only for those who are Tier I, after 10 years.
Crim. Proc 11-707(c)

What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who is visiting?

There is no special provision for visiting, other than the “habitually lives” designation included in the requirement to report within 3 days. This is defined as anyplace a person lives, sleeps, or visits regularly, including visits lasting more than 5 hours more than 5 times in a 30-day period.

CR 11-701

What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who will be moving to live or to attend school?

Generally speaking, persons must register within 3 days of coming to “habitually live,” work, or attend school in the state.

Crim Proc. 11-705

State Laws Regarding Sexual Offenses and Offenders, other than registration

What sexual offenses can people be convicted of, and what are the ranges of sentences?

Criminal Law Article under subtitles 3, 5, and 6. See Question 1 in these FAQs for a full listing.

Does the state have lifetime supervision?

§ 11-723
Petition for removal process is described here. § 11-723

Does the state have indeterminate sentencing?

It does not.

What are the state civil commitment laws?

There is no civil commitment statute exclusively targeting sexual offenses. This statute covers the situations in which someone might become civilly committed.
Criminal Procedure Code Title 3-106

Generally the victim must be under 16 and the perpetrator 4 or more years older. Punishment is tougher if the older person is an authority figure. MD Code, Crim Law § 3-301 - § 3-315. The link below has a table that breaks things down. Age of Consent
Md. CRIMINAL LAW Code Ann. § 3-308

Are there “Romeo and Juliet” laws or other laws specific to young people?

Maryland has no clear laws regarding this situation, other than what is outlined regarding age of consent in Md. CRIMINAL LAW Code Ann. § 3-308 as linked above.

Info for State Advocates

Are felons allowed to vote? If so, when is this right restored?

Effective March 10, 2016, Felons who have completed serving their court-ordered term of imprisonment, are eligible to vote, unless the felon has been convicted of buying or selling votes.
MD. Election Law Code Ann. §3-102

What does the state say about persons who are required to register?

How does the state’s legislative process work?

How can I locate and track legislation regarding sexual offense issues?

Go to and use the search box to find bills using the keywords below. When you find something you want to track, look for the little thumbtack near the top right, click it, and follow directions to create a tracking account. From then on, click the thumbtack next to its title and add it to your tracking list. Depending on your settings, you’ll get updates at different frequencies.

Best keywords are:

Searches that work well here are “sexual offense” and “sexual offender” and “required to register.”

Sign up for notifications of bill movement:

See tracking above.

Most important legislative committees for our issues are:

Contact info for state legislators can be found at:

Other Useful State Information

Contact information for state registry office

300 East Joppa Road, Suite 1000
Towson, Maryland 21286
(410) 339-5000 (877) 379-8636

RSOL state affiliate website or blog:

Families Advocating Intelligent Registries (FAIR)

Other helpful state advocacy groups:

Maryland CURE MAJR (MD Alliance for Justice Reform)

Other registrant-friendly state support groups:

Response needed.

Other helpful information

maryland.1598820250.txt.gz · Last modified: 2020/08/30 16:44 by rkdbus