Table of Contents
While we strive to be as accurate and complete as possible, our researchers are not attorneys, and state laws are often full of nuances and gaps. Legal challenges in some states have resulted in different registration requirements based on the year of conviction or first registration. Users must accept all risks associated with actions taken based on this information. Please help us improve by reporting any errors or omissions via our form at https://narsol.org/wiki-response/
Oregon Laws Regarding Registration
Who must register?
What information must registrants provide?
How frequently must they register? And for how long?
Lifetime is implied, through petition for early removal allowed after 10 years in some cases. 163A.120
Beginning on Jan. 1, 2019, most level 1 registrants will have the right to petition for relief. 163A.125
Does the state categorize registrants by levels/tiers?
Oregon places registrants based on level of risk. Risk is assessed using the Static-99R for adult males and the LS-CMI for juveniles and females.
Does the state use risk assessment when assigning tiers or levels to registrants?
Yes. Risk assessment is used with all registrants in the state. It is administered either upon or just after release to persons coming out of incarceration, and upon initial registration in Oregon for persons moving into the state.
Do any registrants remain privately registered? If so, who?
Yes; only those classified predatory are on the website.
As of January 1st, 2019, only those classified as level 3 will be on the website. 163A.215
Is there a registration fee?
Are there special restrictions for registrants even after supervision?
Supervision fee 163A.035(5)
Comm. Notification 163A.215
Residency restrictions children/living with another SO while on parole or probation144.642
Proximity (level 3)163.476
Is there a process for removal from the registry? If so, who qualifies and what is the process?
Yes, a court-based process. 163A.120
Beginning on Jan. 1, 2019, an administrative process will be implemented that will eventually replace the court-based system. 163A.125
What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who is visiting the state?
Nothing specific found.
What is the registration requirement for someone with a sexual offense who will be moving to the state to live or to attend school?
Within 10 days 163A.020
State Laws Regarding Sexual Offenses and Offenders, other than registration
What sexual offenses can people be convicted of, and what are the ranges of sentences?
As used in ORS 163A.005 (Definitions for ORS 163A.005 to 163A.235) to 163A.235
Chapter 163A — Sex Offender Reporting and Classification
Does the state have lifetime supervision?
Does the state have indeterminate sentencing?
What are the state civil commitment laws?
What is the age of consent?
Age 18 163.435
Are there “Romeo and Juliet” laws or other laws specific to young people?
Yes; actor must be older by 3 or more years 163.345
Info for State Advocates
Are felons allowed to vote? If so, when is this right restored?
Yes; as soon as released from prison 137.281
What does the state say about persons who are required to register?
How does the state’s legislative process work?
How can I locate legislation regarding sexual offense issues?
Multiple search methods given
Best keywords are:
Sexual; sex offense; sex offender
How to sign up for notifications of bill movement:
e-subscribe for bill alerts
track by bill #
paid subscription; choose state
Most important legislative committees for our issues are:
Contact info for state legislators can be found at:
Other Useful State Information
Contact information for state registry office
3565 Trelstad Ave SE
Salem, OR 97317
NARSOL state affiliate website or blog:
Beginning on Jan. 1, 2019, Oregon has a new modified risk-based registry. oregonvoices.org has developed an informational flow chart to help registrants understand and navigate the new system.
Other helpful state advocacy groups:
Partnership for Safety and Justice (PSJ works for evidence-based criminal justice reform)
Other registrant-friendly state support groups:
Oregon CURE (CURE is a support group for families with a member in prison for any reason)